THE UNOBTANIATE

Icon

Porsche News Bits Brought To You By Unobtanium Inc

Adventures in highly modified Speedsters!

I got a call a few weeks ago from a guy who had a Speedster and he sent me some pics. When I got the pics I was horrified, but then thought it was just a kit car, probably a CMC wide body, they are still around. But no, he explains, this one is all metal, and is a real 356!!!! He wanted to sell it along with a solid early 912 chassis. I said ok and the deal was made. When I got to the car I was amazed at the level of work that went into it, a full roll cage, lots of fabrication and all steel flairs, this car was someone’s baby.

The question now remains, what to do with it? I think I am going to do like Michaelangelo and stare it at for a few months like he did with the block of marble that became his masterpiece sculpture of David. As he said, the sculpture is already there, you just have to remove the extraneous material to see it. I think that is what I will have to do with this car.
Other highlights of this trip were getting lost and ending up on Adam Rd. and Big John carrying half a 356 across the yard. All in all a fun trip, never a dull moment in the lives of the Unobtanium Crew. Next stop Hershey!

—Adam Wright

Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

